Adding and Removing Members of a Group

You can add or remove users in a group definition when you are logged in as a Composer system administrator or as a user who has been assigned to a group with group management privileges. You can add or delete users in a group at any time.

Management of the supplied Administrators group can only be performed by a member of that group or by a user in a group with all of the following privileges: Can Administer Users, Can Administer Groups, and Can Administer Dashboards.

To add or remove members in a group:

  1. Log into Composer as a Composer administrator or a user who has been assigned to a group with group management privileges.

    If the user name you log in with is also associated with other Composer accounts, verify that the correct account is selected. See Switching Accounts.

  2. Select Users & Groups on the UI menu (). The Users and Groups page appears. It consists of two sections: Users and Groups.

  3. List the group definitions defined for the account. See Listing and Reviewing Group Definitions.

  4. Select the group definition to which you want to add or remove members. The group definition editor appears on the right side of the page.

  5. Select the Members tab.

  6. Select . An Add Member(s) pop-up dialog appears.

  7. Select (check) the names of the users in the dialog that you want to add to the group. To remove members, clear (uncheck) the checkboxes corresponding to the user names in the dialog that you want to remove from the group.

    If all users should be added or removed in the group, select the Select All option.

    You can sort the user list by name in ascending or descending order to help you locate the user names you need.

    Use the search bar to easily locate a specific user when the user list is very long.

  8. After the users are selected appropriately, select . The selected user(s) are added or removed in the editor, but the group definition has not yet been saved.

    Note that you can remove users from the group on this screen by selecting the icon associated with their user name. Then select on the resulting confirmation dialog.

  9. Select to save the group definition. The selected user(s) are added or removed in the group definition. A save confirmation message displays.