Modifying Group Definitions

You can modify group definitions in a Composer account when you are logged in as a Composer system administrator or as a user who has been assigned to a group with group management privileges.

Management of the supplied Administrators group can only be performed by a member of that group or by a user in a group with all of the following privileges: Can Administer Users, Can Administer Groups, and Can Administer Dashboards.

To modify a group definition:

  1. Log into Composer as a Composer administrator or a user who has been assigned to a group with group management privileges.

    If the user name you log in with is also associated with other Composer accounts, verify that the correct account is selected. See Switching Accounts.

  2. Select Users & Groups on the UI menu (). The Users and Groups page appears. It consists of two sections: Users and Groups.

  3. Select Groups to see a list of all of the group definitions that have been defined for the account.

  4. Select the name of the group you want to modify in the list on the left side of the page. The group definition editor appears on the right side of the page.

  5. Select the General tab to change the group name in the Group Name box. Optionally update the description of the group in the Description box.

  6. Select the Data Sources tab and update the data source configuration permissions and restrictions needed for the group. See Restricting Data Source Configurations in a Group for more information.

  7. Select the Members tab and assign and remove users in the group. See Adding and Removing Members of a Group for more information.

  8. Select the Privileges tab and update the privileges for the group. Privileges allow the administrator to grant permission to perform specific Composer functions to all members of a group. See Group Privilege Reference for more information.

  9. After data source configuration restrictions, members, and privileges have been updated for the group, select to save the group.