Granting Permissions for a Dashboard

You can grant read, write, or delete dashboard permissions for your account, groups in your account, or specific users in your account.

To grant permissions for a dashboard:

  1. Log into Composer as an administrator or a user belonging to a group that includes the Can Administer Dashboards or the Can Manage Dashboard Permissions privilege.

  2. Select Library on the top-level navigation banner or the UI menu, or select the Dashboards box on the Home page. The dashboard library displays.

  3. Locate the row for the dashboard in the list and select in its Permissions column. The Dashboard Permissions dialog appears.

    Initially, this dialog is empty.

  4. Select Add on the Dashboard Permissions dialog and then select Groups, Users, or Account on the drop-down menu. If you select Groups, the Add Groups dialog appears, listing all the groups available in your account. If you select Users, the Add Users dialog appears, listing all the users available in your account. If you select Account, Read authorization is selected for your account on the Dashboard Permissions dialog.

  5. Select the account or any specific groups or users you want to permit to read, write, or delete the dashboard and select . The Dashboard Permissions dialog lists your selections.

    Note that you cannot set dashboard permissions for the supplied group Administrators. Members of the Administrators group have read, write, and delete permissions for every dashboard in the account. Note also that the user who created the dashboard is automatically selected and has Read, Write, and Delete permissions.

  6. Select the Read, Write, or Delete check boxes for the account, groups, or users to indicate what users in them can do with the dashboard. Read authorization is assumed and is always selected. If you uncheck the Read box (revoke Read permission), permission for the entire dashboard is revoked for the account, group, or user after you save.

  7. Select . The Save Details dialog appears, listing the changes that you made.

  8. Review the changes and select . The dashboard authorization permissions are set.