Copy Visuals

You can copy visuals on your dashboard using the Copy Visual on the visual drop-down menu. The visual is copied and displays on the dashboard.

You can also copy a visual using the Save As option on the visual drop-down menu to save the visual with a new name. See Save Visuals With New Names.

To copy visuals, you must be logged in as an administrator or as a user with the Can Create Visuals or Can Administer Visuals group privilege.

To control whether a visual can be copied, use the interactivity sidebar. See Control How Users Interact With a Visual.

To copy a visual:

  1. Select the visual on a dashboard. A blue border appears around the visual. If you select a visual with a streaming data source, the time bar (Data DVR) appears.

    You cannot copy a visual from the Visual Gallery or by editing it from the Visual Gallery.

  2. Select Copy Visual on the visual drop-down menu.

    A copy of the visual appears on the dashboard. Its initial name is the same as the original visual, with an incremented number added to the end of the name. For example, if the original name was Orders, the initial name of the first copied visual is Orders (1).

    Every stored setting for the visual is copied, including sort and limit options, filters, ruler properties and reference lines, colors, time bar options. and other visual information. However, zoom levels for maps are not copied.