BackPrevious Topic Next TopicNext

Edit Business View Security

The Edit Business View Security dialog helps you to define security for business views in a catalog. It appears when you do one of the following:

  • Select Menu > Tools > Security Configuration in the Business View Editor.
  • In the Catalog Manager, navigate to a data source > Security, right-click Business View Security, and then select Edit Business View Security from the shortcut menu.

Edit Business View Security dialog

The following are details about options in the dialog:

Users/Groups/Roles

Lists all the users, roles and groups (also referred to as principals) for the security policy. You can select one or more of them.

  • Add button
    Adds a principal. After you select the button, a drop-down menu will be shown:
    • Add User
      Creates a new user in the Add User dialog.
    • Add Group
      Creates a new group in the Add Group dialog.
    • Add Role
      Creates a new role in the Add Role dialog.
    • Import from Logi Report Server
      Imports principals from a started Logi Report Server. If Logi Report Designer cannot connect to the server and log you in automatically, you will be prompted with the Connect to Logi Report Server dialog to specify the properties for connecting with the server firstly.
    • Import from File
      Imports principals from an xml file.
  • Export button
    Exports the principals defined in the security policy to an xml file.
  • Delete button
    Deletes the selected principal. The everyone role cannot be deleted, and it by default has the Access and Visible permissions on all the data fields.
  • Edit button
    Edits the selected principal in the displayed dialog.
  • Search button
    Type in text in the toolbar to search for principals in the list box below. The names containing the matched text will be shown.
  • Drop-down Menu button
    The drop-down menu provides the following options:
    • Select Role
      Selects all the roles in the list box below.
    • Select Group
      Selects all the groups in the list box below.
    • Select User
      Selects all the users in the list box below.

Resources

Lists all the business views in the current catalog data source. You can select one or more of the resources.

  • Search button
    Searches for resources in the resource tree below. The names containing the matched text will be shown.
  • Drop-down menu button
    The drop-down menu provides the following options:
    • Select Group
      Selects all the group objects in the resource tree below.
    • Select Aggregation
      Selects all the aggregation objects in the resource tree below.
    • Select Detail
      Selects all the detail objects in the resource tree below.
    • Select Category
      Selects all the categories in the resource tree below.

Security Options

  • Use Default
    Specify whether to use the default security settings of the selected fields. Clear the option to specify the data security and resource security for the selected fields.
  • Set as Default
    The option is enabled when Use Default is unselected and only one principal and one field is selected. It saves the current data security and resource security settings as the selected field's default security settings.

Data Security

  • Access
    Specifies whether the values of the selected fields are available to the selected principals. Without the Access permission, when the principals run reports which contain objects such as dynamic formulas and filters that reference the selected fields, these objects will not be able to get values from the fields and instead get a null value.

    The Access permission can be set to Allow, Deny, or unknown (neither Allow nor Deny).

    If a principal's Access permission on a field finally turns out to be unknown after inheriting permissions from the parent principals, the principal's Access permission on the field will be regarded as Deny.

  • Allowed Set
    The option is enabled when a group field is selected. It specifies the members of the selected group field which the selected principals are allowed to access. It could be <All>, some members of the group field, a condition that retrieves certain members, or null.
    • Edit button
      Edits the allowed members in the Edit Values dialog.
    • Delete button
      Deletes the specified members or condition.
  • Denied Set
    The option is enabled when a group field is selected. It specifies the members of the selected group field which the selected principals are not allowed to access. It could be <All>, some members of the group field, a condition, or null.
    • Edit button
      Edits the denied members in the Edit Values dialog.
    • Delete button
      Deletes the specified members or condition.
  • Allow Unspecified Members
    The option is available when users and a group field is selected. It specifies whether the unspecified members are available to the users. The unspecified members here mean the members of the group field that are not specified in its allowed/denied set for the users or in the inherited allowed/denied set from the parents.

Resource Security

  • Visible
    Specifies whether the selected fields are visible to the selected principals. Can be set to Allow, Deny, or unknown (neither Allow nor Deny).

    If a principal's Visible permission on a field finally turns out to be unknown after inheriting permissions from the parent principals, the principal's Visible permission on the field will be regarded as Deny.

OK

Applies all changes and closes the dialog.

Cancel

Does not retain any changes and closes the dialog.

Help

Displays the help document about this feature.

Back to top

BackPrevious Topic Next TopicNext